Off to the Races

Standard

This isn’t the Kentucky Derby and no one had better place any bets on the spunky mare, Long Distance Hero, but I have it on good authority that she will work her tail off to win this race!!!

Had it not been for my half marathon training with the most amazing team ever (Omega Nation) I would never have known something was wrong.  Everyone tells you that running is good for you, but this takes it to a whole new level.  Thank you coaches and training buddies for getting me to where I am physically…I know it will serve me well.   All this great physical shape did not prevent my cancer from coming back.  It has a mind of it’s own and this time it decided to move uptown into my lungs. Super crappy…trust me I know and I’m being kind with my words.

I head to Presbyterian Hospital Charlotte for surgery tomorrow.  Since I don’t do many things slowly it’s only fitting that this treatment is starting quickly.  I’ll be staying at the Ritz (oops sorry) Presbyterian for a few days and then I’ll be home recovering. They will remove what they can in my lower right lobe and then test the cancer to confirm that it is in fact my colorectal cancer and not lung cancer.  Yes…who knew you could get rear cancer in your lungs.  So much to learn.

While I’m enjoying my morphine and epidural cocktail do not hesitate to stop by for a visit.  I would love the company even if I don’t remember you were there…that’s what the iphone camera is for.

I plan to blog about this journey in the only way I know…silly, fun, humorous and light hearted, but filled with answers to your questions.  Please raise your Mint Juleps high this will be a derby like no other. 

Love you all  – Sue

19 responses »

  1. I am placing my bets on you…you are amazing and I know you will come out the winner in all of this. Praying for you and loving you huge. I will come to see you…finish big!! Janie

  2. Suzie….your have always been ONE strong Philly!! You will conquer this next mountain…that I know! Our strength, courage and most of all love is beeing “beamed” at your right now from Cali…all our love and then some more! Jeanne. Johnny and Polly…jejopo!

  3. Suzi, First off, I love you! I know you will conquer this mountain as you have the others! You are one of the most brave, wonderful and strong women that I know! Our love, strength and courage and then some more love is being “beamed” to you from Cali….love, Jeanne, Johnny & Polly ..JeJoPo…xo

  4. You are a hero to us all! Will be thinking of you today and sending you happy thought! Please let me know if you need anything!

  5. Suzi Q I have ALL the confidence that you win this race big time!! You are such a strong and courageous person and that will serve you well now. Do know you have lots of people loving you and supporting you. So go kick sone cancer ass!! I am in DC and will try to find a mint jubilee and if not I will find some drink to raise my glass to you and to cheer you on!! Miss you and love you lots!! Stay strong and keep the faith!! Angela xoxo

  6. That’s right! We don’t do anything slow so we look forward to your SPEEDY recovery! Love you, sis, to the moon and back!!! Mint Julep UP!! CHEERS! Shar xoxo

  7. I am putting my money on Sue, all the way for the win! I had no idea what was going on. I am so sorry! Prayers coming your way for a full recovery and a speedy release from Presbyterian resort and spa!

  8. Susan, you are so strong and determined. Tenacious is a word I usually use to describe my Jeanne but it certainly fits you to a T. Love and hugs from me and Charlie. Good thoughts too for all of you.
    Love you lots, Aunt Pat

  9. Susan, We are all thinking of you. I have no doubt that you will overcome this and be back in the race in no time!

  10. Sue, first of all, Rats about the cancer return, hospital, surgery, all that. It sucks. But on the bright side, I’m happy to hear from you and your blogging about this journey. You have my full hearted support all the way from California, but nonetheless with you every day. Lots of hugs to you and your sweet family. Keep on running and writing! xo Jeannie

  11. Pingback: Motivation Monday: Long distance heros, double-marathons and a tutu…another way of living with cancer | Get Your Rear In Gear Blog

  12. Pingback: Motivation Monday: Long distance heros, double-marathons and a tutu…another way of living with cancer | Colon Cancer Coalition

Leave a Reply

